BlackBird Markets

Rebecca invited me along to the Black Bird Market, a kitsch little indoor vintage/indie market where home-made and new found treasures are sold.

First off isn’t she the prettiest ever =D

Becky modeled for me in Ghost Story and Summer Beaches and she is a lovely photographer herself. At the market we had a stroll among the tables all filled with gorgeous little things. Have a look:-

http://www.waycuterthanabutton.etsy.com

Way Cuter Than A Button presents charming jewelery remade from buttons and other knick knacks. I adore their rings, each are different and unique and I was especially drawn to a little wooden one with a rabbit silhouette. You can visit their etsy shop and have one shipped directly to you!

http://www.theotterandthefox.com

The creator behind The Otter and The Fox gathers real Australian wild flowers and makes them into these whimsical necklaces with personal messages inserted. What a very clever idea. The flowers are dried and will last a very long time, so if anyone is looking for a gorgeous personalized gift, this would be perfect!

Yu Hui of Mihua Play http://www.wretch.cc/blog/candydog

Mihua Play is a collection of adorable drawings based on the creator’s own pets. There are postcards and bookmarks and even a little booklet of stories. I couldn’t resist and even bought myself a card of a cat under an umbrella, it reminded me of my own Sammy. You can find Mihua Play on facebook, just search for it!

I have unfortunately misplaced the details of this next designer, all I could glean my the photo is they’re called Mouse. Colorful fabric buttons and brooches and rings, they’re utterly adorable and great to jazz up an outfit with a spot of fun. If anyone know how to contact them, let me know.

Next Becky and I popped by Amor Y Locura, a neat place filled to the brim with Mexican motifs and Día de los Muertos. It’s not something I generally see but those grinning skulls do bring a smile to my face.

If you’re next in Fitzroy and looking for some interesting antique and furniture, try dropping by.

You’ll also find a cafe called Sonido nearby which serves some refreshing local South American fruit drinks. Not a bad way to spend a few hours in the afternoon.

Black Bird Market is open every second Saturday of every month.

2 thoughts on “BlackBird Markets

Leave a Reply

