Makeup Tutorial: Sassy Waves

My last (and first) attempt at an formal evening-suitable makeup was a little bit of a disaster. It was about 6 years ago now, and I’ve never worn makeup before aside from chapstick and nail polish. I still remember the frantic 2 hour phone call to my mother asking her advice on what makeup to buy. I was going to a college ball and I wanted to look beautiful. A friend at the time even came over to help me prep.

Looking back at photos (yes they’re still there and in public), I am reminded of all the makeup faux pas that occurred- wrong foundation, too much foundation, too much powder, unruly eyebrows, white eyeshadow, unblended blush……oh dear.

Moving on.Excuse the terrible background. Shots taken quickly while waiting to get picked up. And rest assure my face matches the colour on the rest of my body, the light is just hitting weird. Let’s break it down;

Hair: HI-CURL X-Treme Wave curler. Section off hair and pin the rest up. Clamp hair in between curler monstrosity and continue until happy. I had to get the awesome Ashley to come in and help me because I couldn’t see the back of my head and burned my fingers twice. She sectioned off smaller strands of hair from below to build more volume, and used hairspray to set. On the top of the head she used thicker strands to get a layered wave. I then ran some CRISTALLI Argan and Macadamia Oil through for shine and to let the hair fall more naturally.

It became flatter as the night wore on but I still liked it. After a sleep in, it has become this casual loose beach wave thing. Kind of cool =D

Now for the makeup:

Face: MAYBELLINE Fit Me Liquid Foundation in 310, BENEFIT B-oing Concealer in 03, MAC sheer pressed powder in NW35, BY TERRY Touch Expert Advanced in No 6 (for under eyes)

Highlight: LAURA MERCIER Metallic Creme Eye Colour in Platinum (lightly dab with fingers or foundation brush on high points of the face) with BENEFIT Girl Meets Pearl over it.

Cheeks: SLEEK in Guipure (Lace Blush by 3 Palette)

Eyes: MAYBELLINE 24 Hr Color Tattoo in Eternal Gold (sheer wash all over lid), URBAN DECAY Half Baked (over lid), Darkhorse (crease and outer lid), Smog (lower lid along water line), Sin (inner eye, under brows) from the Naked Palette, MAYBELLINE Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black, LANCOME Hypnose Mascara.

Lips: DIOR Addict Extreme in 536 Lucky (as a stain), MAC Viva Glam V (all over lips), SMASHBOX Lip Gloss in Radiant.

Brushes: REAL TECHNIQUES Pointed Foundation Brush, Blush Brush (Love!) and NYX Smokie Eye Brush (love this one, getting a second!)

Perfume: LANCOME Tresor In Love.

Dress: MISS SELFRIDGE

Shoes: ALAIA

Bag: PORTMANS

Accessories: DIVA Assorted Bangle Bracelets, ASOS Studded Bracelet (limited edition designer, forgot the name!), ASOS Gold Metal Rings, TARTAN HEARTS Polish Ring

Finishing off with an instagram pout face. Because it’s fun. Because I can. If anyone’s interested in reviews of any of the products above, let me know because it might just show up at BelleDemoiselle!

Leave a Reply

