Immigration Museum’s Chocolate Festival: Melt

Can I just say I love being my friend (of I’m So Hungree fame) Ashley’s plus one, because I simply get to eat and eat and smile at random people. Occasionally I get to dress up. So that’s a bonus.

This time I got to tag along to the Immigration Museum’s new Melt exhibition (an exclusive preview woohoo) which celebrates chocolate from all over the world with the help of the local Belgium, Brazilian and Mexican communities who created the delightful treats.

Melt: A chocolate festival
Melt: A chocolate festival

It was very cold so boy was I happy to be given a warm cup of thick Mexican chocolate, accompanied by some freshly baked sweet breads covered in cinnamon and cocoa. I was definitely the first to quietly slink away to a seat to sip and savor the concoction which was so delicious with a good punch of spices.

Mexican Champurrado and sweet bread
Mexican Champurrado and sweet bread

It was really interesting to hear the background stories of these treats and the role they play in the day to day lives of different people. For example the sweet breads are made by the men in the community  from 3 am in the morning in time for breakfast because they require a lot of hard work. I say woohoo to that if I’m getting breakfast in bed 😉

Brigadeiros
Brigadeiros

In addition there were samples of chocolates and brigadeiros (named after a politician in fact) and chocolate skulls to decorate! You should see the look of concentration on our faces =)

Chocolate Skull decorating
Chocolate Skull decorating
Ashley from I'm So Hungree
Ashley from I’m So Hungree

The Festival is taking place for one day only on 26th May. You can find out more details here, and I’m told there would be more chocolatey delights including waffles and a chocolate fountain and some workshops for us to get our hands deliciously dirty! You would also get to speak with the people involved and learn about the history of chocolate.

In the mean time I am wondering how to eat my punked out chocolate skull =D

Bling and punk Chocolate Skull
Bling and punk Chocolate Skull

 

 

Leave a Reply

